Signed at Versailles on 3 September 1783 by George Montagu, 4th Duke of Manchester and Charles Gravier, Earl of Vergennes. Hoffman, Ronald and Peter J. Albert, eds. Peace and the Peacemakers: The Treaty of 1783. Charlottesville: Published for the United States Capitol Historical Society by University Press of Virginia, 1986. [Catalog Data Set] The Peace of Paris of 1783 was the series of treaties that ended the American War of Independence. On September 3, 1783, representatives of King George III of Great Britain signed in Paris a treaty with representatives of the United States of America – commonly known as the Treaty of Paris (1783) – and two treaties at Versailles with representatives of King Louis XVI of France and King Charles III of Spain – commonly known as the Treaties of Versailles (1783). The day before, a preliminary treaty had been signed with representatives of the States General of the Dutch Republic, but the final treaty ending the Fourth Anglo-Dutch War was not signed until 20 May 1784; However, for the sake of simplicity, it is included in the following summaries. Provisional articles were signed in Paris on 2 September 1783. The treaty dictated that the British would lose their thirteen colonies and also marked the end of the First British Empire. The United States gained more than expected, thanks to the allocation of Western territory. [1] The other Allies had mixed to mediocre results. France retaliated against Britain after its defeat in the Seven Years` War, but its material gains were small (Tobago, Senegal and small areas in India) and its financial losses enormous.

It was already in financial difficulty and its loans to finance the war consumed all its loans and caused the financial disasters that characterized the 1780s. Historians associate these disasters with the arrival of the French Revolution. [2] The Dutch gained nothing of significant value at the end of the war. The Spaniards had a mixed result; they regated Menorca and Florida, but Gibraltar remained in British hands. [3] Preamble. Declares that the Treaty is «in the name of the Most Holy Undivided Trinity» (followed by a reference to Divine Providence)[15] Bona Fides declares the signatories and declares the intention of both parties to «forget all past misunderstandings and differences» and «to ensure both eternal peace and harmony». The government was theoretically to be headed by the Duke of Portland, while the two foreign ministers were to be Charles Fox and, remarkably, Lord North. Richard Oswald was replaced by a new negotiator, David Hartley, but the Americans refused to authorize treaty changes – in part because they would have to be approved by Congress, which would take several months with two Atlantic crossings.

Therefore, on September 3, 1783, at the Hôtel de Hartley in Paris, the treaty as Richard Oswald had previously agreed in November was officially signed, and at Versailles, the separate treaties with France and Spain were also formalized. .